BetaClick for old website


The Directorate of Research and Innovation is led by the Director, supported by Deputy Director and Assistant Research Scientist for the smooth functioning of the Directorate.

Dr Dhaval Pujara

I/c Director – Research and Innovation

Dean (I/c), Faculty of Doctoral Studies & Research

E-mail :

Ph. +91-79-71652670

Dr Dhaval Pujara is serving as the In-charge Director of Directorate of Research and Innovation and Dean – Faculty of Doctoral Studies and Research, Nirma University.

Dr Pujara received BE degree in Electronics Engineering, MTech degree Microwaves and Radar Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Roorkee and PhD degree from Nirma University. Dr Dhaval Pujara is a Professor with the Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering, Institute of Technology, Nirma University. He has a wide teaching experience at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels. During 2007-2009, he was deputed to Space Applications Centre (SAC), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Ahmedabad for carrying out research on ‘Antennas for Satellite Applications’. He has been awarded as the ‘Best Engineering College Teacher’ of the Gujarat state by the Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE) in the year 2004. He is also a recipient of ‘The Young Scientist Award’ during the year 2011 by the International Union of Radio Science (URSI). In year 2015, he has been awarded the IETE – Smt Ranjana Pal Memorial Award for his significant contribution in RF and Antenna Engineering. He has been awarded as the ‘Best Professor of Institute of Technology’, Nirma University for the year 2015. He has also received the prestigious US Fulbright Fellowship during the year 2017 to visit several universities of the US. Dr Pujara is a senior member of IEEE-USA, and life member of many professional societies, like ISTE, IETE, Institute of Engineers, etc. He has many publications to his credit. Dr Pujara has been invited by many institutes and industries to conduct workshops and lecture series on research/teaching /life skills, etc.

Dr S C Vora

Deputy Director, Research and Innovation

E-mail :

Ph. +91-79-71652401


Currently, Dr S C Vora is Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering, Institute of Technology, Nirma University, Dr Vora graduated in Electrical Engineering from Saurashtra University, Gujarat. He received his ME and PhD in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. He is the PG coordinator of MTech programme in Electrical Engineering (viz. Electrical Power Systems and Energy System). He has published many research papers in peer reviewed journals and presented papers at the international/national conferences. He has guided around 15 Master’s thesis and is guiding three research scholars towards their doctoral degree. He has been invited by reputed institutes and industries to conduct workshops and consultancy services. He is a member of IEEE, USA, a life member of ISTE, and Life Member of Society Energy Society of India (SESI), New Delhi.

Dr Heena Dave

Assistant Research Scientist

E-mail :

Ph. +91-79-71652626


Dr Heena Dave is currently serving Directorate of Research and Innovation as Assistant Research Scientist. Dr Dave is a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry from St Xavier’s College,Ahmedabad, Gujarat (1994) and Master of Science in Life Sciences from School of Sciences,Gujarat University. She earned her doctorate in Life Sciences from the Gujarat Cancer and Research Institute (GCRI) and Gujarat University. Moreover, Dr Dave was also awarded a Post-doctoral Fellowship in Cancer Research at NYU Lagone Medical Center, New York (20122013). She has also earned a Post Graduate Diploma in Hospital and Healthcare from Ahmedabad Management Association and California University (2015). Dr Dave was associated with The Gujarat Cancer and Research Institute, Ahmedabad from August 1996 to June 2012 in various capacities from Junior Research Fellow, Junior Research Assistant, Research Assistant to Research Associate. Dr Dave was also associated with Institute of Science, Nirma University from 2013 to 2017 as Assistant Professor. Dr Dave is a recipient of world’s most prestigious ‘Fulbright-Nehru Doctoral and Professional Research Scholarship’ during 2009-2010 awarded byUnited States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF). She is also an awardee of ‘Benjamin DuranTravel Grant’ award by Fulbright commission for her paper presented at American Association ofCancer Research Annual Meeting 2010; Washington DC, USA. Moreover, she has more than 6research awards; to name a few, ‘Sitaram Joglekar Award’ (2001), ‘Professor A. R. RaoMemorial Young Researcher/Scientist Award’ (2011) for her outstanding research contribution.Her research interest is in Identifying cancer biomarkers and understanding their signaling pathways for prognosis and metastasis in order to select the treatment modalities leading to a personalised therapy.


Get our Newsletter